Strategic Branding

“ADVERTISING” is a word I loathe. Not because of it’s meaning to me, it’s a profession I love and that I’ve been in most of my life: Other people have fine art on their walls, I have advertising art on my walls. For me advertising is one of the most sophisticated forms of communication. We have to artfully communicate a business concept, product, service or cause very quickly. The problem with the word “ADVERTISING” is that it is also the generic word, container, or chum bucket for all the crap that is also associated with all advertising in the world. Being generic, the word doesn’t stand for anything, but that big ugly chum bucket to many and to some advertising is a dirty word on an evil par with the best of the worst in the four letter category. “INTEGRATED COMMUNICATIONS” is more descriptive, but could still become it’s own kind of generic bucket. For this reason I’ve landed on “STRATEGIC BRANDING” as the best description of what I do.
Strategic hints to some of the thought that goes into what I consider to be my best work and good branding is ultimately the end goal of all advertising. Social network marketing is social network marketing. Good social network marketing is strategic branding. TV advertising is TV advertising. Good TV advertising is strategic branding. You get the picture!

One Response to “Strategic Branding”

  1. Strategic branding is an excellent representation of the intent of good advertising. I don’t agree with the notion that any exposure is good exposure; advertising with out a strategic objective feels the same way to me. Annoying your customer should never be an outcome and a poorly planned advertising strategy can do just that. I see this often with email marketing and direct mail.
    I believe a successful brand campaign requires an integrated media mix that is appealing to your market segment, using humor, art and sound and incentives. As a mobile marketer the potential for reach and response is tremendous, that is why each campaign requires a mindful strategic campaign objective. Put your brand in the hands of your customers http://www.mobilevip.biz

Leave a comment